Building a boat for the first time

Discussion in 'Boatbuilding' started by andrew_busch, Mar 17, 2009.

1. andrew_busch

andrew_busch Junior Member

Hi guys,

I'm completely new to boat building, in fact I had to search wikipedia to figure out what "epoxy" and "port" (the left side of a boat) was today.

So now that you know more about me, I'm planning on building an extremely minimalistic boat - so much so that it could quite practically be called a "coffin", based on it's shape and... external impacts (hopefully not). It just needs to be able to float and drift around in a swimming pool, and if it ends up being a success, I may consider taking it with me when I move back to my home country, in which I can go sailing/rowing around the marina.

Now I have these nice sheets of plywood, particularly 3 0.7m X 2.5m ones - two 8mm and one 16mm. So I'm thinking that I could make a very basic two chine (bet I'm using that wrong) boat, like this: \_/ or: |_|. I think angled sides would be better, as it may lessen the claustrophobia of being in a boat that small. I was planning on chucking a piece of timber at the joints to beef it up a bit. Oh, and for the front, I'm going to keep it perpendicular to the water, and I got some other plywood planks and thin sheets that I could use there.

So as you can see, I got this down, except for most of it. Now for the joining, I was thinking that nails wood be good enough. But I realize that you can't just nail together pieces of wood and expect it to be sea worthy, so how do I seal it? I'd rather use something that hasn't got any health risks in both the construction and the usage, and is also cheap and easy. I heard paint can suffice.

So overall, how is my current design? And how do I do a simple job with sealing for a basic plywood frame boat?

2. alan white

alan white Senior Member