3d HULL! HELP :(

Discussion in 'Boat Design' started by ptommy, May 20, 2016.

1. ptommy

ptommy Junior Member

GOOD EVENING GUYS!
    i'm new in this site,i'm a young Naval architect and marine engineer and i've seen that a lot of wonderful material, congrats!

i'm starting a project of a motor yacht with Loa=15m. i have a problem, the shipyard have the mould (plate) but there hasn't the plane of costruction for the hull! now the question:
    how can i do to obtain a 3d model hull starting by the mould????:confused::confused::confused::rolleyes:

thanks to everything for ideas or solutions!

ciaoooo

2. TANSL

TANSL Senior Member

It's easy, though laborious. You have no choice but to take measures in the mold, several points to generate cross sections and all other curves on the hull you need. They can be taken by hand, drawing reference lines, or by means of a 3D scanner. In Barcelona there is at least one company that has already done this several times in boats. They call it "reverse engineering".
    Have a look on :
    http://www.enavales.com/index.php/a...n-de-formas-de-una-embarcaciĆ³n-existente.html
    http://captae.com/servicio-escaner-laser-3d/laser-scanner-3d-ingenieria-naval/

3. ptommy

ptommy Junior Member

Thanks a lot of your quick answer TANSL I had thought the same solutions hoping in the existence of other ones :,,,D. to reduce the cost it seem better the solutions "with mesures" but i never did it. how can i perform it?
    i mesure the Loa of the mold. OK
    i divide the Loa to obtain several transversal section. OK
    but how can obtain the RIGHT shape of transversal section and put it in CAD?
    I'VE thought to do sections mold with cardboard.. but i haven't clear like importing everything in the CAD to modeling the HULL :(

4. ptommy

ptommy Junior Member

ppost scritum!
    thanks a lot for your usuful links!

5. TANSL

TANSL Senior Member