Electric engine

Discussion in 'Electric Propulsion' started by Fjs, Sep 16, 2018.

1. Fjs

Fjs New Member

I have a 39ft canal boat that I am thinking about converting to an electric engine. From other research I have done I worked out that I will need a 10-15kW motor, and I was wondering if anyone knew anything about the manta 2 drives. Would they work for a boat that is cruising rivers? Would they work to cruise 8 hours? What kind of battery capacity would they need.

Thanks for all your help, I am just a novice at the moment wanting to learn.

2. alan craig

alan craig Senior Member

3. JamesG123

JamesG123 Senior Member

Welcome and then be ready for the guys who are going to say you're gonna die if you don't have a "proper engine" on board.

4. BlueBell

BlueBell . . . _ _ _ . . . _ _ _

10 - 15 KW is a lot of power.
    Is there a speed limit?
    What's the budget as lithium batteries get expensive, fast.
    What does your boat weigh?

5. The Q

The Q Senior Member

Reading this May Help Electric boat conversion http://worcesternb.blogspot.com/

Who needs lithium batteries? a canal boat was designed as a freight carrier, some form of lead acid will do, it won't notice the weight..

Oh top speed on a canal maybe 6mph... and I'm betting a 39 foot canal boat around 10 tons.

I've done the conversion on a 27ft Norfolk Broads motor cruiser 2.6 tons. With 500 amp batteries, (48V) 10Kw motor, 3 or 4 hours duration at most. But you don't want to take the life cycles out of a battery so if I'm going that far, I wind up the generator first. But for pottering around, towing my sailing boat up to the nearest Broad, I don't bother with the genny the solar panels will have it charged by the following weekend..

Last edited: Sep 17, 2018
    Dejay likes this.
  6. JamesG123

JamesG123 Senior Member

Or even old school nickel-iron batteries. If you have the space and want the ballast.

The "SV Seeker" Utubers did a video on the ones they are using in their steel junk.