Unusual rudder placement

Discussion in 'Boat Design' started by Lynton Banks, Jan 29, 2023.

1. Lynton Banks

Lynton Banks Junior Member

Hi guys Newbie here .
    Following on from this thread rudders were discussed.
    Lifting strakes do they produce lift in the submerged sections https://www.boatdesign.net/threads/lifting-strakes-do-they-produce-lift-in-the-submerged-sections.67770/

Picking up on the rudders I thought folks might be interested in this set up .
    A34AE3BC-A289-4E61-A696-84B910610A45.jpeg
    This boat pre dates mine .In other words when production of the 46 ceased the 42( renamed 48 ) followed for there mid range.It was also used mid 90 s on the 54 or maybe the 56 the next size up . So he was pretty keen on this design.

He dropped them on the 60 went back to his hanging rudders .

What was the rationale for this movable rudder bar .
    Drag reduction ? Or ……

2. sharpii2

sharpii2 Senior Member

My guess is to keep the rudder axis perpendicular to the water surface. As the boat gets on a plane, the bow rises and the stern squats a bit. It is at this point the planing starts to happen (or is supposed to). When it does, the somewhat squated stern starts to rise, and the boat levels out a bit. But not entirely.

3. fallguy

fallguy Senior Member

I will only comment as a boat lover. @baeckmo is really smart; so if you get to hear from him, consider yourself fortunate.

The picture is interesting. It looks like they are pulling the rudders up to help reduce drag coming out of the hole, then once the boat is up, can bump down to get some rudder back. The leading edge of these rudders seems pretty big to me, as a casual boat lover and not a racer.

For private use boat; seems like a lot of monkey business versus a rudder with a longer tail that would stay in the water when the boat is up or one more streamlined on the leading edge and with a different trailing edge on top.