How to fit windvane and indicator on mast without lowering it?

Discussion in 'OnBoard Electronics & Controls' started by DavidBBB, Jun 9, 2009.

1. DavidBBB

DavidBBB New Member

Hi. I am very new to owning a boat - bought my first one which is wonderful except it has no wind indicator and no wind vane on top of the mast. It is a wooden mast and boat. I do not really want to lower the mast: any advice would be much appreciated on whether and how it is possible to fit items on the top of the mast. To avoid wiring, I have heard of wireless wind instruments, but I still need to get the gear, plus a visual windvane, on top of the mast. Any suggestions would be much appreciated! Thanks.

2. CTMD

CTMD Naval Architect

3. PAR

PAR Yacht Designer/Builder

You have to climb the mast. Trust me, if you have any fear of heights, then you'll need to hire this job out.

4. Luckless

Luckless Senior Member

If you're feeling foolishly daring you could try tipping your mast without taking it out of the boat. Watched a guy do that once,... Don't think he actually wanted to do it judging by the amount of cursing and screaming coming from the marina that day.

But really, jokes aside. How high of a mast, what is the style, and what kind of facilities do you have near by? I've seen a few people do work on masts by tieing up to a pier along the Fundy bay at low tide, and using a small cherry picker to reach the top. If there is something that would let you do something like that near by, you'll only need to use it for a few minutes. But I wouldn't go out and rent one and pay to bring in it for such work.

5. PAR

PAR Yacht Designer/Builder

Pulling yourself up in a boson's chair or having someone pull you up, isn't especially hard. 30 to 35 feet is the limit, that a person with the fear of heights can tolerate, before they just lock up. Less if you're moving around or swinging on a tether.

6. NEWENGLAND

NEWENGLAND Guest

Wicked Easy Ayah!

Wicked Easy Ayah!