Power trimaran world cruiser

Discussion in 'Multihulls' started by teamcallander, May 13, 2017.

1. teamcallander

teamcallander Junior Member

30 meter with sky.jpg 30 meter flying bridge.jpg 30 m main deck.jpg 30 meter lower deck.jpg

Hi there

A few years back I posted some design ideas for an 80 ft power trimaran on the forums here and received a lot of very good feedback from the members which I really appreciated. It helped me to refine what was important and to get read of a bunch of stuff that wasn't. As a result I went back to the drawing board and also talked to some industry folk about what customers want and need in a boat designed to be a world cruiser.

My background is in hydrogen fuel cell and renewable energy system design but in order to really make the most of those in a boat you really need to start with something different from what the mass production market currently provides. This is my first attempt at transferring my design ideas into a CAD program - I used Rhino and Flamingo - and I'm pretty happy with the result but in reality everything can be improved on.

But enough of the preamble, here are the specs:

- 10:1 round bilge, canoe bottom power trimaran of 98ft length and 30ft overall beam
    - max draft 4ft
    - 35 tons light ship
    - 2000 gallons of fuel
    - accommodation for 10 in 5 ensuite guest cabins
    - separate entrance crew quarters with accommodation for 4 in 2 cabins plus kitchen and bathroom
    - 17ft dinghy garage with rear door onto swim platform
    - all the usual amenities on the main deck and flying bridge

Anyway, I have a attached a short (six page) overview of the design with some renders if you want to know more about it.

Thanks and very much looking forward to your feedback!

Attached Files:

Doug Lord likes this.
  2. teamcallander

Forgot to attach the side view...

30 meter side view.jpg

3. teamcallander