Box barge hull shape - which is better?

Discussion in 'Hydrodynamics and Aerodynamics' started by Justaguy, Jan 30, 2016.

1. Justaguy

Justaguy Junior Member

Hi,

Wasn't sure if this belonged here or in Design. Probably six of one, half dozen of the other as it's related to both. As will be immediately apparent, I have very little knowledge of naval architecture (but I'm learning).

My question relates to optimizing hull shape for a DIY plywood box barge. My first two questions are very basic on purpose. In the attached simple diagram, I've numbered three hull shapes (side views). Nothing is to scale. Just meant to communicate shapes. Assume vertical sides and a very long deadflat bottom regardless of end shape.

1 - Box - the reason for improvement needs no explanation. It's just the baseline.

2 - Box with 45 degree ends - a clear improvement on # 1.

3 - Box with sharp curved ends - a potential, but not particularly clear improvement on # 2.

At the moment, I'm assuming # 3 is the best one. However, that may be based on curved bows being my most common mental boat image vs. any scientific reason.

Taking a stab at justifying my choice, I'd say # 3 has these advantages over #2:

A. Improved structural strength (think "arch")
    B. Slight increase in hull volume
    C. Speed/drag differences - no earthly idea

My questions:

1. Do you agree that # 3 is the best, most optimized shape? Why/why not?

2. Whichever is best, to what degree? In other words, am I deliberating over tiny fractions of one knot or minuscule fuel efficiencies, or would the difference be substantial?

Of course, you have to generalize to answer these questions. I'd appreciate any helpful comments.

Thanks.

Attached Files:

DogCavalry likes this.
  2. NavalSArtichoke

NavalSArtichoke Senior Member

This is the cheapest to build.