Nautor Swan 43

Discussion in 'Sailboats' started by Lew Morris, Apr 23, 2003.

1. Lew Morris

Lew Morris Industrial Designer

The price is too good to turn down, it's loaded with electronics, the interior is, if not mint, very close to it. The engine has low hours and generally speaking this boat is in excellent condition... except, the teak deck.

We're told it's been sanded twice. And it shows. There are a few split planks, a LOT of exposed screw heads (since the original wooden screw-plugs have been shaved down), and the caulking is pulled away from the wood in as many places.

The teak covers a fiberglass deck so I'm not too concerned about the seaworthiness of this vessel, but I like to "barefoot it" and don't relish snagging a screwhead ... so the deck has to be replaced.

I'm a pattern/mold maker by trade so I'm confident that I can handle the joinery (given enough time). Can anyone steer me toward books, or lend and personal experience regarding re-decking a boat?

Thanks.... again.

Lew

2. duluthboats

duluthboats Senior Dreamer

3. Lew Morris

Lew Morris Industrial Designer

Thanks Gary,

A little prelimary phone work this afternoon came up with a yard estimate of between $35,00 and $40,000 to remove, and replace the entire teak decking on this boat. The boat is in southern California so I think this might be a reasonable estimate. It's old growth teak and I understand it's nigh impossible to find now.

We considered stripping the teak, fairing the deck surface, and applying a Gibco texture using Awl-Grip. We would do it ourselves for considerably less than the quoted teak price... sweat comes cheap(er).

But that teak REALLY looks nice and is a great surface. The method outlined on the Epoxyworks site is definitely another route.