Help troubleshooting vacuum layup w/ Polyester

Discussion in 'Fiberglass and Composite Boat Building' started by mbam, Oct 1, 2008.

1. mbam

mbam New Member

Thanks in advance for any help here!!

I am making new deck panels to replace the rotten plywood on my cruiser and am having problems with the laminate that is next to the peel ply. Let me add this is my first attempt at vacuum bagging.

¾ Polyumac 6 lb foam with 1 layer 1708 0-90 biax on each face. I am only concerned with the finish on 1 face, so are trying to do this in one shot. On the first attempt I was concerned about running out of time so only went 1% on the hardener with the shop at about 75 deg. The layer against the table looked pretty good and hardened properly, but the top side was still soft after 12 hours. We were able to pull the glass off the foam & it also looked dry. We are using peel-ply and some Trivera as a bleed layer, 15” vacuum on this attempt. Our local supplier said too much vacuum.

Second attempt was better, went 1.5% on the hardener and 7-8”, still not great however. Looks dry in spots and is still soft in some areas. We also had added a 2”wide x 3/4 rib down the center – so it was bottom layer of biax- wet out – foam(we wet it with resin) - layer of biax - wet out – place rib – add 7” wide strip over the rib (which is chamfered to a knife edge all the way around).

I’m pretty sure we are using enough resin, first try we weighed the glass and did the math for 50/50, added 20% or so. Second try we manually wet out & rolled adding resin until it looked OK, same way as if we were doing a conventional layup then added the peel-ply & Trivera. The 7” vacuum was not enough to pull the biax against the sides of the rib, but we are just using 4 mil poly for the bag and it does not stretch very well so that did not help.
    We are doing this on ¾ melamine board laminated to a piece of ¾ mdf. Have an oil-less compressor that we are using as a vacuum pump, it will pull 28” if needed.