somebody feed my aluminum boat design to me

Discussion in 'Boat Design' started by Hunterr, Jun 15, 2015.

1. Hunterr

Hunterr Junior Member

my boat Layout's link => https://youtu.be/myQcQaoQsLw

This is an aluminum boat for fishing
    LOA -10.41m
    LBP -7.74m
    B-2.67m
    Depth-0.65m
    designed load draft line-0.27m
    225PS outboard Honda motor will be installed.

I am a boat design newbie and designed this boat with Rhino.
    I need some advice regarding Lines shape and general arragnement.

and, I am really wondering how accurate every hydrostatic and dynamic values of Orca3D are.

I will buy a hydrostatic and hydrodynamic calculation program tomorrow.
    please recommend a software which has exact reliability values.
    and teach me Orca3D's pros&cons.

2. TANSL

TANSL Senior Member

I don't know the type of fishing you want to make but keep in mind that this boat is very sensitive to movements of the weights which, in fishing boats, is undesirable.
    With so powerful engine fuel spend much more than the value of what you catch.
    These are some shapes to a planing boat, not right for a fishing boat, in my opinion.
    The bow is very low and very low freeboard. Most days can not go fishing because of the height of the waves.
    The model in Rhino is very nice.
    In short, as a fishing boat, I don't see that the forms are adequate.

And the last point: aluminum is a material too delicate for the rough work of a fishing boat

Last edited: Jun 15, 2015
  3. Jamie Kennedy

Jamie Kennedy Senior Member

Very good points by TANSL. Also good to study the existing local designs, and talk to the local fishermen about how they are used and why they are built the way they are.

Fishing boats equiped with powerful lights to attract squid at night Seogwipo harbor Jeju Do South Korea...
    [​IMG]

4. Kevin Morin

Kevin Morin Junior Member

Design Remarks

Hunterr,