Spray Guns

Discussion in 'Fiberglass and Composite Boat Building' started by etott, Jan 6, 2007.

1. etott

etott Junior Member

Hello, I am a beginner, I have a HVLP siphon spray gun. I was wondering if it would work for gel coat?

4.8 cfm @40 psi
    1.8 mm nozzle

Thanks in advance.

2. jimslade

jimslade Senior Member

One word, NO. You need a gelcoat gun. You will ruin your hvlp. To spray gel you need a much larger tip.

Last edited: Jan 10, 2007
  3. fiberglass jack

fiberglass jack Senior Member

hvlp with a 2.0 tip will work even a 1.8 will work but u will need to thin the gel down with some styrinne or acetone for it to shoot, what are u spraying into a mould or resurfacing, for production get yourself a gelcoat dump gun the one that takes papercups cost around 250 the problem with a regular gun is the gel will go hard and all your left with is a expensive hammer, I had a guy F$%##k UP A 600 dollar sata on me once, if your going to be doing a repair the gun you have will work fine i often use a mini jet gun with a 0.7 tip and have seen a 0.5 tip used but for this the gelcoat has to be thined down and if you dont know what your doing you may end up in a mess

4. etott

etott Junior Member

Thanks guys, I think I will go buy a paper cup gun, any recommendations?

I want to spray into a boat mold.

Thanks

5. Eagle Boats

Eagle Boats Senior Member

You can get a cup gun at fgci.com. They have one for about $130. This is a basic model. They also have one which adds the catalyst while you are spraying. This is more money. Stick with the cheaper one as you will know that the catalyst has been properly added and mixed.