General Purpose Powerboat Hull Design

Discussion in 'Boat Design' started by jdray, Jun 23, 2020.

1. jdray

jdray Paddle Guy

Please understand as I ask this question that I am not qualified to design boats. I'm barely qualified to ask intelligent questions about boat designs. I am, by trade and training, a systems analyst, so my approach to things is to break requirements down into service areas, put them in "buckets" as it were, and work to resolve the needs of each particular bucket.

As far as I can tell, boats (I'll stick to power boats because I understand them better) have a few categories of function, within which are requirements that vary based on the needs of the user:
    • Hull
      • Keeps the water out
      • Keeps the boat and contents buoyant
      • Accommodates passengers and contents
      • Enables the propulsion system to move it through the water at some level of efficiency
    • Propulsion system
      • Transforms energy from a stored state to a kinetic state
      • Pushes hull through the water
      • Operates on some balance of power versus efficiency against the particular hull shape
    • Steering system
      • Steers the boat
      • Possibly integrated with the propulsion system
      • Possibly integrated with the navigation system
    • Communications system
    • Hotel functions
    You get the idea.

There's a lot of discussion on this forum about various boat designs, and in every one of them the phrase "it depends" or "everything is a tradeoff" shows up. And I'm not here to argue those truths. I do, however, wonder if there's some sort of "middle ground" hull shape that would meet the needs of a large pool of boaters, and allow builders to have a starting point they can add functionality to as customers needs dictate or boat designers think the market will bear.