Drawing Yacht Interiors

Discussion in 'Boat Design' started by schwing, Jan 7, 2010.

1. schwing

schwing Junior Member

Its been a long time since i've been on here, but am hoping somebody might be able to help me out with some answers or advice. I am a graduate of the yacht manufacturing and surveying degree run though the Southampton Solent University, and am aiming to get in to the yacht interiors side of the industry. I have sent out a lot of letters to a lot of companies offering to work unpaid in order to gain experience, but so far have had very little response as it seems that people are not in a position to take on relatively unskilled workers at this time. I am also applying to do a masters degree in interior design with a view to becoming more skilled in the area in which i would like to work. Most of all this is something that i am very very keen to learn everything about, its not just a career choice but also a hobby and something that i want to be able to apply eventually knowing that i have done all i can and learnt everything that there is to learn (if that is possible).

The position i am in at the moment is that i am trying to put together a portfolio of work from scratch, as i realise that this is essential to be able to get my place on a postgraduate degree, or even be considered for an internship. I am trying to learn how to take a published plan drawing of a yacht and turn this in to a number of 3D perspective drawings (hand drawn).

Questions.

1. Are most interior views of yachts drawn in 1,2 or 3 point perspective?

2. How is possible to get the measurements of the interior without actually being on the boat?

3. How can i get hold of a perspective grid template as used by some interior designers.

If anyone feels that they can help me to develop with this i would greatly appreciate your help. Any links, websites or personal advice would be very helpful.

2. Tad

Tad Boat Designer