Job Interview Tips/Questions

Discussion in 'Services & Employment' started by tsurmeli, Aug 26, 2007.

1. tsurmeli

tsurmeli New Member

I am a fresh graduate and I will have my first job interview with a very big firm that builds sailing yachts. Since it will be my first interview can anyone who has such experience tell me about the procedure and what kind of questions (any formulas) I may face? :rolleyes:

Thanks

2. avantguardia

avantguardia Junior Member

3. JEM

JEM Senior Member

The face-to-face interview is more about seeing you as a person and a professional than it is to review your technical credentials.

They want to see someone who is good worker, personable, professional, willing to learn, and will do what it takes to get the job done right.

Don't pretend to be something you're not. Just try to remain upbeat, respectful, positive, eager to learn the company/business.

1 person likes this.
  4. PsiPhi

PsiPhi Newbie

I know nothing about the Boating industry, but I have hired a number of people, and have had a few jobs myself.

Avantguardia is correct, honesty is number one, they'll see straight through anything else. Your a fresh grad, they are not expecting you to know everything (yet).

Be confident, but not arrogant.

There will be no trick questions, and they're not trying to trip you up. and if they are you really don't want to work there, trust me.

As Jem says, they want to assess your personality to see if they get on with you, they've already assessed your qualifications from your resume/academic record.

5. fiberglass jack

fiberglass jack Senior Member

find out as much as u can about them ,then see what u have that they want, remember a interview is a sales pitch you only have a short amount of time to sale your self, with in the first few minutes they will have made thier mind if the will hire you or not, chances are they are sailors and have a passion for boats, learn to banter and shot the **** but say professional

6. Bergalia