Low resistance powercat boat plan

Discussion in 'Boat Design' started by arthurcsb, Oct 30, 2012.

1. arthurcsb

arthurcsb New Member

I am currently doing R&D project on wing in ground craft. According to my research, a low resistance planing/semi-planing catamaran hull design would be most suitable for the craft design. However, I have no experience in designing a catamaran boat hull. Anyone can provide me a basic powered catamaran hull boat plan please? Thank you!

2. sottorf

sottorf member

I assume you are thinking of using a catamaran hull to overcome the resistance hump caused by hydrodynamic drag on the hull just before take off. I dont think a catamaran is the right choice for that. The designs I have seen make use of stepped monohulls or SES hulls. My knowledge is hower limited. I propose you post you question on the WIG page http://www.se-technology.com/wig/index.php

3. masalai

masalai masalai

Hi arthurcsb,
    Welcome to the forum, have a look at what "groper" is doing, and I recently drove mine some 900 N Miles from Brisbane to Cairns - build is partially outlined on the thread - "my little piece of peace"... I have a range of about 2000 N Miles on a tonne of fuel averaging 7.5 knots using a pair of nanni-sail-drives utilising a pair of 20hp kubota engines... My boat can fit sails but was prepared for extensive cruising in the tropics during the 'doldrum' season...

4. groper

groper Senior Member

arthur, i wish you good luck with your WIG project, there is much untapped market here for a successful machine in many markets. I have had significant exposure to such designs through my fathers work and extensive studies of the russian craft built to date - more work has been done by the russians than anyone else in this field which im sure your already aware of.