boat costing in quantity

Discussion in 'Boat Design' started by nine6, Jan 14, 2014.

1. nine6

nine6 New Member

Hey Guys. This is my very first boat building post! Yay for me!
    OK......so. I'm a complete novice. But I want to build a boat. Actually 200-400 of them. This isnt really just for me.
    So......I have no experience whatsoever in boatbuilding but I'm trying to get a grant and private funding to open a "boat building club" of persons located in the city of Tulsa. And I'd like to find a few specific boats to tailor to the persons for whom the boats are being built for, which, in this case, is public school teachers in the city of Tulsa. Its a long story. Anyways....
    So, what I'm trying to figure out is the least expensive way to build about 200-400 boats. The thing is that one of the purposes of the club is to teach the boatbuilders how to build their own boats. So the least expensive way may not be the best way because the boats need to be reproducible by the person involved in the production of the 200-400 boats and those boats may be being built in those persons own garages. (Although the 200-400 themselves will be built in more of a "factory" environment.) Also the persons involved in the construction would, in the beginning, be novices themselves. So there is also that to consider.
    From a lot of the reading that I've done, it looks like the "easiest" method of construction would be stitch and glue. I've been looking at the Devlin Boats website and have found a lot to really like there. Particularly with the Black Crown 30 and the Czarinna 35 which would suit my purposes almost perfectly.