boat construction

Discussion in 'Boatbuilding' started by felipetheartist, Jul 3, 2014.

1. felipetheartist

felipetheartist Junior Member

I have been drawing the same boat for about 3 years, and now I am ready to begin construction. I work at a boat manufacturing facility as a fabricator, my supervisor has built atleast 5 sailboats ranging 20ft-40ft. I ask him for advice and recommends that I use foam sheets to develop a shape of the boat. He said would I able to sand or fair it for smooth surfaces to the desired shape after I apply the sheets to the skeleton and the laminate it for strength. I was wondering what type of foam sheets is he referring to?

Thank you!

2. gonzo

gonzo Senior Member

He will be the best person to ask what he is talking about. Depending on what you are trying to do, there are many options. For example, is this a plug or a one-off?

3. felipetheartist

felipetheartist Junior Member

Hey Gonzo!
    Thanks ! I was hoping to use it as prototype and if performance is well, use it as a plug.

4. gonzo

gonzo Senior Member

There is a big difference between a drawing and a design. The drawing should be the end product of the design. The design will take into consideration building materials and techniques, planned use of the boat, area to be used in, total weight (displacement), target speed, necessary power, stability calculations, compliance with regulations, etc. As you see, the design process should've given you the answers. Trying to find building materials to fit a drawing is not a good way to go around it. The whole design should take all aspects into consideration. You may find that the drawing needs to be modified to work with foam or solid lamination. Plugs are usually build of wood or wood/fiberglass.

5. PAR

PAR Yacht Designer/Builder