boat building vacation

Discussion in 'Wooden Boat Building and Restoration' started by seasurf, Dec 11, 2004.

1. seasurf

seasurf New Member

Hi There
    My name is Joe and I am located in Gros Morne, Newfoundland Canada. My passion in life is old motor boats powered by vintage make and break engines or put put's. I have 2 boats and several engines. I make my living by renting my tourist cottages and doing tour work in my boats. This summer I bought a building that is located right on the Ocean and am turning it into a wooden motor boat manufacturing and school. The idea is that a person takes there vacation at my cottages and we build a boat. If anyone has any opinions, thoughts, or interest contact me at any time.
    Regards
    Joe

2. DGreenwood

DGreenwood Senior Member

Holy Cow! Joe...you couldn't have picked a more beautiful spot to set up your business.
    The world has not yet discovered Gros Morne and I sort of hope they never do. The Fiordes of Norway got nothing on Gros Morne.
    That sounds like a great vacation to me, if I didn't already build boats for a living. (It would be kind of like the postman going for a walk on his day off) Hope you get some takers. The trick will be in getting yourself known in the right circles.Maybe try WoodenBoat Magazine. Or maybe better yet some of the European wooden boat enthusiast mags. They love your part of the world, in Germany especially.
    And what could be more fun than playing with a "make and break" engine?

3. seasurf

seasurf New Member

Hi Mr. Greenwood