Bluejacket, how long?

Discussion in 'Powerboats' started by Guest, Mar 28, 2002.

1. Guest

Guest Guest

I reread Tom Lathrop's articles in Boatbuilder on Bluejacket (Liz).
    The more I studied the more I liked it. So the question is. How long can that hull be while keeping a beam of less than 8' 6"? That is the widest you can be on a US highway without a permit. I'd like to see 6' more of cabin and keep the aft deck. At 30' it would still be under 5000 lbs. It wouldn't be fun to pull on a trailer but you could do it. I use to pull a 32' foot camper around.

Tom have you done any more model work with longer hulls?

It's a wonder I ever get any sleep with all this spinning around in my head.

2. duluthboats

duluthboats Senior Dreamer

Guest? That was me. I have to remember to log in.:rolleyes:
    Gary

3. Polarity

Polarity Senior Member

Got your......cookies turned off?

4. tom28571

tom28571 Senior Member

Sorry Duluth, I missed this thread. I have thought about a somewhat larger boat but have not done any serious work on one. It could possibly be a viable option for the high speed coastal cruiser design project. The present pilothouse is about seven feet long (84 1/2"). Six more feet and another 6 inches width would be quite a large cabin. I suppose you are thinking about another two guest bunks in a table space.

5. duluthboats

Adding the extra berths would be a plus. My reason for the larger cabin is that where I would use this boat the water temp. rarely reaches into the 50's F. Small cabins make me cranky. But I would still like to have an aft deck. I think 28' would be the minimum.
    I started this thread because I was thinking about Bluejacket, and how long it could be streached. Would this improve or detracked from the handling.
    This might not belong here, but I wanted to keep it separate from the design project.
    Gary

6. duluthboats