Hello from Alaska pls post advice on my carbon fiber moose hunting freighter project

Discussion in 'Boatbuilding' started by mainer_in_ak, Mar 18, 2010.

1. mainer_in_ak

mainer_in_ak New Member

Little about me and the boats we use up here.

I'm a student of Alaska Pacific University, did 8 yrs. in the Army (3 in Iraq) and now that I'm a free man.....I'm going to persue the study and construction of my boat design. We traverse very shallow, glacial fed rivers up here. Jet powered inboard/outboards are generally used for this type of river travel. the only problem with a jet motor is the 30% loss of power when compared to a prop driven motor. I use freighter canoes with small outboard motors to achieve the same success as others. These freighter canoes are a displacement hull, and when combined with my home-made outboard lifts.....these small freighters are extremely efficient for traveling long distance (like the Yukon) while using very little fuel. I shot a moose two seasons ago and the trip was 67 miles round trip. I burnt 5 gallons of gas....all while hauling a quartered bull moose up river on the return trip. this kind of efficiency is amazing when compared to a jet driven boat (of equal load carrying capacity) that would generally burn 25-35 gallons of fuel to do the same thing i did. Granted.....getting there was slow.......my point is....it worked....and my freezer was full. Now that I'm a free man.....I want to pursue my custom sport boat with either a carbon fiber/kevlar laminate, or an all carbon fiber hull. I've designed a sport boat that will actually plane (a freighter canoe will not), and actually have some displacement hull designs of a freighter canoe. the bow will be designed to have the ability to ride up over obstacles. From what I understand.....to get the most out of the carbon fiber....you have to vacuum bag the layup over a mold that also has some sort of layer that "sucks" up excess epoxy. Can somebody please desribe this further to me? Wha