Best rig for small catamaran circumnavigator?

Discussion in 'Multihulls' started by randy quimpo, Jan 23, 2006.

1. randy quimpo

randy quimpo New Member

Hi fellows,
    I'm an amateur designer working on a design for a small (27 foot) epoxy-plywood catamaran circumnavigator (please be patient - I dont know too much at this point). I need a recommendation as to what the best rig to use is. The cat will be sailed singlehanded, and mostly in trades (the leisurely route around the world - none of this cape stuff ). No carbon fiber masts please - plain wood prefered.

Priorities will be ease of use (to be sailed singlehanded but lazily), reasonable performance and cost.

I was thinking of a Prout-style large genoa / small main type. Or even ripping off some ideas from the Wharram tiki sail.

I like unstayed masts due to the simplicity, but doesn't this mean that I need a thicker mast, therefore less efficient airfoil?

One more thing - do any of the traditional rigs qualify? Cat ketch / Yawl anyone? I've heard so many good things about the Cat ketch rig but for the life of me I can't imagine how this will work on a catamaran.

rgds / Randy Quimpo

2. Deering

Deering Senior Member

Go read Chris White's "The Cruising Multihull". It will answer your questions plus a bunch more you haven't thought of yet.

3. randy quimpo

randy quimpo New Member

Hi Deering,
    I've got that book, but it doesn't discuss the pros and cons of different types of rigs. You are right, though, in that it has lots of very useful information.

I DO wish Chris White would update that book. The multihull world has changed a lot since he released it.

Thanks / Randy Quimpo

4. Eric Sponberg

Eric Sponberg Senior Member