A new dream

Discussion in 'Multihulls' started by ebordier, Oct 17, 2008.

1. ebordier

ebordier New Member

Hello everybody

I'm a complete beginner in the boat building field, but I had a dream to build my own cat a long time ago, and it seems I'm getting to the point a being ready for this new enterprise, but I desperately need help for early guidance:

I have no previous experience in boat building, but I have a background in engineering, I'm good with my hands and I've built and made a few stuff in the past. Also my finances, without being that good, are sufficient to support such a project. My dream is a cruising sailing cat. Ideally I wanted a big 35ft+, which means that if I stay realistic, i could go for 25-30 ft and keep my sanity... also my priorities usually go toward quality.

The various questions I have for everybody are:

1) Am I just dumm to want to go through that? Better cumulate another job, get a promotion, swallow my pride and buy the damn cat?

2) I'm good with my hands, but don't know anything about boat design, so I want to be sure to have my hands on high quality plans. The problem is how to choose and who to trust. Any advice? A site that seems to have plans for the cats I look for is Wood design (www.sailingcatamarans.com), but still don't know how to decide what's good and what's not.

3) How much space do you need to build the beast? Can you build it anywhere and move it, or do you need to build it next to a ramp that leads to the water? (ie backyard vs professional shed)

4) Do you absolutely need help, or can you mostly work alone?

5) Any other critical element I need to consider before making up my mind?

Thanks to all

2. Nordic Cat

Nordic Cat Senior Member

I would suggest that you find a few people who are in the build stage now, or have been, there are some in your area.