What sort of wood do I use?

Discussion in 'Wooden Boat Building and Restoration' started by Samdaman, Mar 30, 2023.

1. Samdaman

Samdaman Junior Member

Hello,

I'm new to boats, I'm looking at doing a small boat as my first project. Just so I can make mistakes on something not very costly. The plans I'm looking at are here.

https://www.diy-wood-boat.com/support-files/buzz.pdf

I'm looking at the New Zealand equivalent for wood, what I'm finding is a mix of

- untreated or treated
    - rough sawn or dressed
    - ply or marine ply?

What sort of wood am I supposed to use? I obviously don't want it to rot or be structurally poor.

Cheers,

2. bajansailor

bajansailor Marine Surveyor

That is a VERY old set of plans, never mind that it is 'free' - boat design has come a long way since then, even for little 11' runabouts.
    Even though it is 'free', you will still need to invest a fair bit of money, time and effort into building this boat.
    And it looks rather complicated and difficult, relatively, compared to more modern methods - and you will hopefully be using modern methods when you graduate to building your houseboat later.
    Have a look on the usual sites like Duckworks, Glen-L, Boatbuilder Central et al and see if they have any small runabouts around 11' long (and built with modern methods) that might appeal to you?
    They might be a better way of starting off on the boatbuilding journey?

Samdaman, DogCavalry and BlueBell like this.
  3. Rumars

Rumars Senior Member

- always untreated.
    - usually rough sawn
    - usually marine ply
    Plans normally specify the species to be used for different parts of the boat, if you don't know the equivalent species available in NZ just ask here. For example douglas fir is known as oregon pine over there.
    Plans also specify finished dimensions, dressed wood is only useful if it matches, otherwise it needs resurfacing, rough sawn is cheaper.