Best design for Heavy Seas.

Discussion in 'Boat Design' started by Ozymandias, Dec 24, 2015.

1. Ozymandias

Ozymandias Ozymandias

I am flat lander from Kansas and need a little advice but I am not completely stupid thanks to the USN. Looking for the the best design or combination of designs for a boat that must first withstand rough seas and Hurricanes at any cost but is manuverable and I know one must consider speed in this equation too. I am a recreational builder but I also do not consider boat building to be a hobby. Any advice, articles, peer friendship and "even you're nuts or daft to build one" would be appreciated.

2. Ad Hoc

Ad Hoc Naval Architect

Hi Ozymandias

WElcome to the forum.

This is an easy question. The best type of hull form for rough weather is a Swath...

S....small
    W...waterplane
    A...area
    T...twin
    H...hull

SWATH

3. Ozymandias

Ozymandias Ozymandias

swath

Thank you, very much.sir. I had a feeling I was leaning in the right direction. Makes sense to me. That was the design area I was headed for. Thank you for the Welcome too.

4. TANSL

TANSL Senior Member

I'm not going to question here the characteristics of a SWATH type vessel but I would point out that lifeboats, closed, self-righting, support quite well rough seas and Hurricanes. Under these extreme conditions the pure speed is less important.

Merry Christmas and Happy New Year to all.

1 person likes this.
  5. Mr Efficiency

Mr Efficiency Senior Member

My understanding is the USN maintains an expensive weather forecasting and reporting system to avoid, as far as possible, having to "withstand rough seas at any cost", so in my opinion you have set the bar way too high for a small recreational effort.

6. PAR

PAR Yacht Designer/Builder

Welcome to the forum.

Size is the real key to suit your "meet and sea and win" mentality. Frankly, this isn't practical in pleasure craft.