Tuned Hulls

Discussion in 'Boat Design' started by Lin Olen, Jan 25, 2008.

1. Lin Olen

Lin Olen Junior Member

In my youth I made many models of boats and aircraft, always trying to get better performance. This let to me applying the effects of resonance to the design of a hard chine displacement.

What I wanted was considered impossible but I designed and built a 12 footer that I rowed at 7 miles per hour and get 12 mph with a 2 blade prop on an old 3 hp Seagull outboard that I fitted with an anti-cavitation plate.

My boat did not create any bow wave and gradually accellerated from displacement to planing with a gradual throttle increase. My tuned hull re-absorbed its initial shock wave, a bit like squeezing an apple seed. and left the water flat. I have a photo of the disturbance as I raced past a 14 foot clinker with a 3 HP Simplex inboard.

With a 5 hp Johnson my boat was comparable to a 10 hp Mercury on a 12 foot tinny. I am a novice at posting and need some good advice... Lin Olen

2. tom28571

tom28571 Senior Member

Lin, I can't be of much help on the computer but I'm sure we all will be interested in following up on your work with the boats you discussed.

3. SeaSpark

SeaSpark -

Could you explain a little more about the resonating hull, i am not sure i understand from your brief description.

Once i build a paper/glue glider airplane about a foot wide modeled like a box kite:

[​IMG]

While airborne the wings started resonating and the contraption glided much further than you would expect. About as far as the most "advanced" paper airplane i was able to make at the time. After some flights/crashes it lost shape and rigidity. I tried to rebuild it but the replicas never flew as good as the first model.

4. rwatson

rwatson Senior Member

I wouldnt thank that rowing at 7 mph was all that amazing, its only just above walking speed - and sticking an outboard on to get less than double the performance doesnt sound all that amazing either.