Release agent and mold help

Discussion in 'Fiberglass and Composite Boat Building' started by Jacob J, May 18, 2010.

1. Jacob J

Jacob J New Member

Hello

I am new to boat building and yesterday I bought a boat (13 foot long). The boat has been build by laying fiberglass on the outside of an original boat of that type. My boat is in fact looking like an negative mold and I was wondering if it is possible to use the boat as a mold. It is very smooth on the inside and by my knowledge (or lack off) it seems like it could do the job.

My first question is now, how do I prepare it for production?

Second, if I would like to use mold release wax, which brand and type should I use and how much wax is used?

Hope you can help me and sorry for my spelling errors, but my english is not that good.

/Jacob from Denmark

2. Obsession

Obsession Junior Member

Not to be negative, and I may misunderstand what you mean by "prepare it for production" and "built by laying fiberglass on... an original boat" but before you invest too much time, do you have the rights to produce this boat? Creating a mold based on an existing boat is known as splashing and definitely frowned upon. On the other hand, if it's a mold built on an original plug or a design you have the rights to produce and not stealing a designer's work, people will be much more inclined to help you. Sorry if I completely misread your post and my concerns are unwarranted.

3. Jacob J

Jacob J New Member

I am not going to put this boat in production, just build a few for me and my friends and the design is not patented, because it is a homemade boat build by an old hunter in my town. The total weight of the boat is around 100 pounds, so that much rig isnt needed to handle it. The boat (or mold if we can call it that) looks like it is suitable for the job, but I need some infos on how to do it and so on.

My I ask why it is frowned upon to "splash" a boat and make a mold?

4. Herman

Herman Senior Member