Floating ground and ground faults - Theory questions

Discussion in 'OnBoard Electronics & Controls' started by DarylH, Oct 12, 2012.

1. DarylH

DarylH New Member

Hello,

I've run into some issues with DC ground faults on an Aluminum hull jet boat and I'm a bit above my head when it comes to diagnosing ground faults.
    The boat design is such that the hull is to be completely isolated from the electrical system.

I'm an Electronics Technologist working with a group responsible for Shore to Sea telecommunications, marine electronics, and data communications etc. I'm not a marine electrician and I'm certainly not a physicist that knows everything about electricity.

We're occasionally called-out to this vessel when the crew notice a ground fault alarm. We're very careful with the ships electronics, keeping all chassis (typically grounded to the DC negative) isolated from the hull, wiring to do with ships electronic is done to very high standard etc. We've fixed faults that are usually related to moisture. For example the digital cell antenna lead, where the shield and connector are tied to the chassis of the transceiver (and DC negative) would trip the GND Fault alarm when sufficiently wet, as the moisture must pass enough current from the connector to the mast post (bonded to the hull) to trip the alarm. The solution in this case was using plastic mounts and insolators to keep the connector at a good distance from the post, and of course making extra precautions to wrap everything to keep things dry.

While this alarm seems to trip when there is the slightest issue with the electronics, my suspicion is there are ground faults to do with engine electrical that has put this GND fault sensor close to it's threshold, and then a low current electronic equipment (latest was a wind sensor) with a high resistive connection to the hull (moisture) is enough to trip the alarm.