Fitting Fiberglass Fabric

Discussion in 'Fiberglass and Composite Boat Building' started by tomherrick, Feb 21, 2012.

1. tomherrick

tomherrick Junior Member

I'm new to fiberglass and most particularly to the details of fitting fiberglass fabric to a form. The books I own provide lots of technical advice on laminating, but none on fitting the fabric around curves and other shapes. I've found nothing on YouTube or elsewhere on the Web that shows how it's done, except for very thin cloth over wood structures, e.g., kayaks where it's just draped. I don't have any problem with scarph joints and staggering joints between laminations; those aren't the issue.

My project involves 1708 biaxial and epoxy over a C-Flex male mold; project description elsewhere on this forum. Due to the fairly heavy fabric (yes, I'm married to it now) I'll be using vacuum to hold the wet layup material in place (peel ply - perforated release film); no infusion.

What's confounding me is how to cut the material to fit around curves in the transom cutout and gunwale, and at the end of the running strakes. I've never done any sewing but for patches on my jeans in the 60s, so cutting fabric to fit a particular form is foreign to my experience. Can anyone steer me towards a good book or three on how to do this work?

Photos showing the areas of my consternation are below:

Transom Cutout Curve
    [​IMG]

Gunwale Transition and Curves
    [​IMG]

Running Strake and Transom Corner
    [​IMG]

2. gonzo

gonzo Senior Member

1708 is not that heavy and rather easy to form once it is wetted out. You don't need to vaccuum bag it. A set of two or three different size laminating rollers to push it in should be enough.

3. tomherrick

tomherrick Junior Member