Basic design

Discussion in 'Software' started by barreto, Jun 23, 2010.

1. barreto

barreto New Member

Hello all,

I am a 23 year old mechanical engineer with 5 years experience in industrial design, working alongside my father (also an engineer) in his business building all-hydraulic landscaping equipment. He now wants to expand his business into the market of small aluminum boats (if the venture doesn't work out, at least we have several prototype boats to play with).

My question is- i have no experience working with the more organic shapes of a boat hull. We use primarily SolidWorks for our equipment design, and although it works great for mechanics, its a bit more difficult to shape boat hulls from flat (laser cut) aluminum stock within the program. I would still like to use the program if possible to help with BOM's and the layers we use for our laser table. I am finding it difficult to shape hulls and drift boats parts in solidworks.

I am looking for books, websites, articles on more or less the basics of how to design boat hulls from an orthographic perspective, or any help from other solidworks users would be appreciated. This website is very useful. I've spent about a month just browsing threads and reading on people's projects. Thanks in advance to the people who reply!

2. Gilbert

Gilbert Senior Member

It might be that you would be more likely to get replies if this were posted in the software section. I have never used solidworks; I am curious as to what BOM stands for.

3. apex1

apex1 Guest

Bill Of Materials Gilbert.

4. barreto

barreto New Member

thanks Gilbert, I'll re-post it in the software section.

(thread moved)

5. duluthboats

duluthboats Senior Dreamer