King starboard

Discussion in 'Materials' started by Klutchboy, Feb 19, 2013.

1. Klutchboy

Klutchboy New Member

Hi gentleman, Newbie here, need some advice, have a grady white 25'sailfish with the old ugly ( and rotten ) plywood panels at the Helm/cabin, ( not sure what you call this area ? ) was thinking of replacing with King starboard , will this work ? Currently seems to be 1/2"ply, should I go bigger ? 3/4" maybe ,keep hearing this stuff is not structural, the panels are only 38"X 42" any advice would be great, Thanks

2. PAR

PAR Yacht Designer/Builder

Welcome to the forum.

It depends on what the plywood panels you're replacing are doping. Starboard is awfully heavy stuff, especially considering it's just decorative in nature. There are some uses for it and making a fileting table, it's great, but I think we'll need pictures of the area(s) before any constructive comments can be made.

3. Klutchboy

Klutchboy New Member

pics

it would be to replace the panel to the left and right of the cabin door as seen in these pics, (not my boat but same )

Attached Files:

4. gonzo

gonzo Senior Member

King Starboard has a soft surface and will look pretty shoddy in no time. It is great for cutting boards. Also, it is not cheaper than plywood.

5. PAR

If you skin the existing plywood with Starboard, you'll be fine, but replacement wouldn't be wise, as I think it's the cabin/cockpit bulkhead. Unfortunately, you can't glue Starboard. It can only be welded to itself or mechanically fastened (screws or bolts).

You could skin the plywood with vinyl, acrylic, metal or one of a number of things, to change the look. You could also just seal and paint the plywood.

6. Klutchboy

Klutchboy New Member

the existing plywood is rotted out at the bottom so replacement is a must, should I go back in with marine grade ply and cover with epoxy ?

7. PAR