barge

Discussion in 'Boat Design' started by farmer2, Dec 11, 2016.

1. farmer2

farmer2 Junior Member

I am new to side and have question? I have farm and red river cut it in half at 2015 flood trying to find way to get across no stabilty on bank just sand
    and 100 yards across. Was thinking about a barge big enough to hold tractors and equipment and has to hold 40 tons. thinking of 20x40x5 or so.
    Anybody have plans to built myself what is material cost and what angle iron to use spacing and so! looked ant some used ones and they were heavy 15 inches in water empty is that normal? problem is red river is shallow in summer and high in spring . also was thinking of one inch cable across to pull itself across like cable ferry .
    any thought would be helpful !

2. The Q

The Q Senior Member

I can't answer many of your questions but 40 tons on a pontoon 20ft by 40 would roughly have a draft of 1 foot 10 inches. Before adding the not inconsiderable weight of the barge itself. You haven't said what material you are intending to build the barge from but if you are intending to use angle iron in it I'd assume steel. You will need a vastly larger barge to carry that weight in a shallow draft situation.
    What sort of draft were you intending?

3. kapnD

kapnD Senior Member

google Myark Barges

4. SamSam

SamSam Senior Member

A flat bottom barge hull (not pontoons) 20x40 feet would float 2 tons per inch. Your 40 ton load itself would submerge it 20 inches. In addition, however much the barge weighs would submerge it one inch per 2 tons. If the barge weighed 10 tons, just a wild guess, that would be another 5 inches for a total of 25 inches. That would be for a perfectly level barge, if more weight was on one end than the other, that end would be deeper and the other end shallower.