Balanced lug drags on side stays

Discussion in 'Sailboats' started by cschelin, Jun 1, 2012.

1. cschelin

cschelin New Member

I have built a few wooden boats and installed sails on each of them. Being self-taught I am learning most things the hard way.

I installed a balanced lug sail on one boat. The mast has side-stays (and a fore-stay). When sailing on a run, the sail lays against the side-stay and thus doesn't fill out the way I would like. The designer of this boat suggests that the side stays attach to sides about a foot aft of the mast. I have moved them to 6" aft of the mast and the problem still exists. Must the stays be directly in line (port and starboard) with the mast?

I have several books on sailing and rigging, and there is no mention of lug sails banging into side stays. In fact, none of the pictures/diagrams show side stays, even on the smallest of boats.

Help.

Thanks

2. CutOnce

CutOnce Previous Member

It would be great to post a picture if possible. Smaller boats place the side stays aft of the mast to help keep the mast from bending forward - the slight rearward pull keep the mast up right and gives the forestay something to pull against.

Most smaller boats use spreaders on the side stays, which moves the stays outward a bit and mitigates the interference with the sail. A mast with side stays without spreaders will certainly exhibit the problems you mention.

A strong enough mast, in a solid step, retention at the mast partners and a good downhaul can support a balanced lug without stays - my son's boat was rigged this way. Stay-less (freestanding) rigs are certainly a lot easier.

Some more details on you boat, rigging and all would really help make suggestions easier.

--
    CutOnce

3. messabout

messabout Senior Member

A free standing mast is the most sensible way to fly a lug rig. Without shrouds you can let the sail weather vane any place it likes. In nasty weather or when making a mooring that is a blessing.

4. Petros