B.D. Net 38 (new design idea)

Discussion in 'Boat Design' started by Starfish, May 8, 2008.

1. Starfish

Starfish Junior Member

It fascinates me how much knowledge is on this Board. The reading is endless,
    And there have been a few people on here that offered great advice. I’m still
    looking for the boat too own/build. I have been reading/researching for about
    A year now on different boats, building techniques, ect. I have looked at wood
    Then glass, steel, ferro, you name it. I have thought about buying, building ect.
    I have looked around through countless plans for building and have some favorites.

I think I have settled on a new build, around the 38’ range. I love the idea of the
    Origami type builds. I love the swain boats. But I have my heart set on something a bit
    different.. So I got too thinking, I’m a new builder, there has too be new designers, new
    interior people, new engineers, a whole lot of people on this board that want too design,
    think out, and help see their ideas come too. So why not try too organize these people
    together, and design/build a sailboat? My part will be building/documenting the build.
    I have experience in filming/photog work. So I can document the whole process. I will
    Make hours of Video, take 100’s of photos, ect ect.. I will then edit it out, put it on DVD.
    I plan on someone doing the website for this. This forum will be the meeting place
    Talk area for the design. The website will be for showing the build.

My idea would be too offer the plans AT COST too any builder that’s wants too own one
    After the first is finished. This way, anyone that wants too own a world cruiser, has the money too build one can see the dream happen.

I will start the build in 10 months. From today…..That gives people time too get their part finished. My budget is 60k over a one year builds. 30k per year (about).

I’m very flexable on the design. But there are a few things I will need.