GlenL-14 should I?

Discussion in 'Sailboats' started by markh, Oct 7, 2006.

1. markh

markh New Member

Hello All

I am new to the sport of sailing. Therefore I need a boat to learn on. I purchased the plans to the GlenL-14

When I recieved the plans I right away went into the "How can I do this different" mode. Since the boat is an open framework with plywood that is encapsulated on the outside with fibreglass, what happens as I am sailing and I will be capsizing it? I know that it will happen, it is a fact of life, but I do not mind since I am an excellent swimmer and have no fear of the water. the only thing that bothers me is that I will be bailing out alot of water. I am assuming that the boat will float, but will probably be low in the water.

So my 64,000$ question is, could I use the plans for the lines and essentially build a plug and do away with the frame and substitute foam and fibreglass instead?

How thick to lay the hull up? What weight cloth to use?

Opinions anyone?

Skill level is not a question, I have shop space and tools to drool over.
    I am a trim carpenter by trade so I have no fear at building and doing things.

thank you

Mark

2. Doug Lord

Doug Lord Guest

Mark, I found this about a guy who restored a 14. Says he added flotation and got lot's of help from Glen-l:
    Restoring the Glen-L 14 sailboat pic665a
    Address:http://glen-l.com/picboards/picboard13/pic665a.html Changed:3:45 PM on Tuesday, November 29, 2005
    In most dinghies this size flotation is in side tanks under the side decks but I would get a recommendation from the plans providers. You can probably install self -bailers which are little venturi like devices that you open under sail to drain water(see http://www.apsltd.com ); again