Prop Help getting desperate!!!!

Discussion in 'Props' started by lady47, Apr 24, 2010.

1. lady47

lady47 New Member

:confused: :confused: :confused: :confused: :confused:

Hi

I am new to this but am in dire need of some help.
    I have a Birchwood 31, Charter boat,

I have just had to replace the gearbox, this then meant the RH prop I had was no good as the new box is LH, I also dropped from 2:1 to 1.5:1 gear ratio.
    After speaking to various people I called Freedom Marine, they told me that because I am restricted to an 18" dia I would need to have a three bladed 18 x 18 made to suit. They did this at a cost of £350 to me, and took four and a half weeks and guess what it is not right, where as before i could get 14kts now I can only get 8kts tops and she has the biggest rooster tail of a wake going.

So I got back in touch and they then sent me a four bladed 18 x 21 with a taper insert to drop it down to fit the shaft,

Now it is vibrating like a ********* and will not go over 8kts even when fully throttled, by that I mean changing the revs from 2000 to 2600 makes no difference at all. She still has the rooster tail but now instead of being out the back of the boat it is about four foot from the back of the boat before it starts.

PLEASE CAN ANYBODY HELP

parameters

waterline length 31.5 ft
    bhp 150
    max rpm 2600
    max dia prop 18"
    gearbox 1.5:1
    semi planing hull (design speed of hull around 25tks)

2. Jango

Jango Senior Enthusiast

In order to recommend a Prop, one needs an idea as to total displacement [weight]

In order to obtain 14 kts with 150 HP and a 1.5 gear, A 3 bladed 18 x 13, 65% D.A.R.min. or a 4 bladed prop is needed. This assumes a total displacement of about 5500 kgs which is probably low. [perhaps you have more than 150 shaft HP ?]

If weight is not available, prop size can be reasonably determined if the prop size and pitch with the 2.0 gear is known.

ALSO