Testing boat structure with FEA

Discussion in 'Boat Design' started by EddieGreen, Feb 13, 2021.

1. EddieGreen

EddieGreen Junior Member

Hello,
    I am trying to learn how to use FEA to test the structure of a steel boat (isotropic material simpler than wooden strucutre below) by using Rhino with the Scan & Solve plugin.

While it is usually pretty straightforward to add material, loads ans restraints, i still don't fully understand the concept for a boat structure e.g. frames and longitudinal stringers

i.e. loads can be water pressure on the hull, shrouds tensions to chainplates and main frames, etc ... but how about the RESTRAINTS for the whole boat structure ? I am still puzzled !
    As you can tell i am a newbie !

For instance on this analysis :
    Testing the wooden boat structure with FEA. A modern approach to the structural design of wooden boats by finite elements analysis of the keel- frames-deck beams structures | Boat Design Net https://www.boatdesign.net/gallery/testing-the-wooden-boat-structure-with-fea-a-modern-approach-to-the-structural-design-of-wooden-boats-by-finite-elements-analysis-of-the-keel-frames-deck-beams-structures.27011/

where are the RESTRAINTS positionned ?

Thanks for shedding some light on this !
    Ed

Last edited: Feb 13, 2021
  2. bajansailor

bajansailor Marine Surveyor

Welcome to the Forum Eddie.

I do not know anything about FEA, but I am sure that other folk on here who do will stop by soon.

Re your steel boat structure, can you give us a bit more info about it?
    Is it just a theoretical exercise, or is this a boat that you are planning to build, or maybe it is an existing boat?

3. TANSL

TANSL Senior Member

The ship as a whole is considered as a beam that is simply supported at its ends, or in the center, depending on the case under study. The elements that make up the structure are considered: