AutoCAD to DelftShip and back?

Discussion in 'Software' started by laukejas, Oct 9, 2012.

  1. laukejas
    Joined: Feb 2012
    Posts: 670
    Likes: 11, Points: 18, Legacy Rep: 128
    Location: Lithuania

    laukejas Senior Member

    Hello,

    I'm designing a new ship, trimaran, with custom hull shape. I primarily use AutoCAD (almost for everything), however, even at this early stage, I need hydrostatics calculations, for which I use DelftShip.
    However, I cannot import/export files between these two programs. I just can't find a way. Spent around 2 hours now searching forums and documentations on what file formats to use, but found absolutely nothing.

    AutoCAD is version 2011
    DelftShip is version Proffesional 4.03

    Please help me out here. I really don't know where else to look, I'm really desperate.
     
  2. micspoko
    Joined: Jul 2010
    Posts: 238
    Likes: 6, Points: 28, Legacy Rep: 96
    Location: Poland

    micspoko Senior Member

    In Autocad you design in 3d or 2d
     
  3. laukejas
    Joined: Feb 2012
    Posts: 670
    Likes: 11, Points: 18, Legacy Rep: 128
    Location: Lithuania

    laukejas Senior Member

    in 3d, why?
     
  4. yipster
    Joined: Oct 2002
    Posts: 3,486
    Likes: 95, Points: 58, Legacy Rep: 1148
    Location: netherlands

    yipster designer

    not on pc but try'd *.igis?
    its a wellknown hurdle and more under the search button above
     
  5. TANSL
    Joined: Sep 2011
    Posts: 5,800
    Likes: 201, Points: 73, Legacy Rep: 300
    Location: Spain

    TANSL Senior Member

    Even at the risk of it is obvious what I say, did you try to create .dxf, .iges or .igs files in AutoCAD? (just try "save as" option, or "export" and choose the format you want to use). These files are readable (importables) for most common applications in the marine market.
     
  6. micspoko
    Joined: Jul 2010
    Posts: 238
    Likes: 6, Points: 28, Legacy Rep: 96
    Location: Poland

    micspoko Senior Member

    Import dxf to rhinoceros and then save in format iges
     
  7. laukejas
    Joined: Feb 2012
    Posts: 670
    Likes: 11, Points: 18, Legacy Rep: 128
    Location: Lithuania

    laukejas Senior Member

    DelftShip can import .iges, but AutoCad can't export it... It requires buying separate "advantages" package, which is out of question.

    AutoCAD can export .dxf, but DelftShip can't import it - for some reason "dxf faces" in import drop down menu is greyed out. Know why?
     
  8. TANSL
    Joined: Sep 2011
    Posts: 5,800
    Likes: 201, Points: 73, Legacy Rep: 300
    Location: Spain

    TANSL Senior Member

    See attached an extract of the AutoCAD user manual which shows how to import-export .iges files.
    Although I have not used AutoCAD LT, it is possible that this version does not allow working with solids or surfaces. Perhaps the educational version does not allow either. But, if you want to work with CAD / CAM should use full versions of programs. One thing is to draw, and another is projecting. Sorry if I'm taking the wrong conclusions.
     

    Attached Files:

  9. laukejas
    Joined: Feb 2012
    Posts: 670
    Likes: 11, Points: 18, Legacy Rep: 128
    Location: Lithuania

    laukejas Senior Member

    IGESEXPORT command does not work (says unrecognized), and in export file type drop down menu there is no option for .iges.
     
  10. TANSL
    Joined: Sep 2011
    Posts: 5,800
    Likes: 201, Points: 73, Legacy Rep: 300
    Location: Spain

    TANSL Senior Member

    May be this helps.
     

    Attached Files:

  11. laukejas
    Joined: Feb 2012
    Posts: 670
    Likes: 11, Points: 18, Legacy Rep: 128
    Location: Lithuania

    laukejas Senior Member

    As I said in my previous post, there is no .iges option in export drop down menu. Neither there is .fbx, by the way.
     
  12. TANSL
    Joined: Sep 2011
    Posts: 5,800
    Likes: 201, Points: 73, Legacy Rep: 300
    Location: Spain

    TANSL Senior Member

    Be patient and do not be angry with me. I have no interest in the files. Fbx. In fact, I do not know what they are, and, for now, I don`t care.
    If you look a little more calm figures attached in my previous post, perhaps you'll understand that, what I mean is that in the "Export" menu there is a submenu called "Other formats" (just below the FBX). Clicking on "Other Formats", an auxiliary window will open where you can select the format you want to export your file. And, of course, the. Iges does exist
    I hope you can forgive my interest in helping you. In any case, if you need anything else, I am at your disposal.
    By the way, what version of AutoCAD are you using?. Use AutoCAD's help to find out whether or not it can export in IGES format (I'm sure it can do it) and how to do.
     
  13. laukejas
    Joined: Feb 2012
    Posts: 670
    Likes: 11, Points: 18, Legacy Rep: 128
    Location: Lithuania

    laukejas Senior Member

    Sorry, I wasn't being angry, it's just that I already did exactly as you told... Export > Other Formats and then in that window there is option to choose file type - I click it, drop down menu appears, and there is no .iges. (by the way, I was wrong about .fbx - it is there)

    I'm attaching screenshot to show what I mean.

    AutoCAD is 2011, 64bit full version (not lite or school versions), with latest patches installed.

    And sorry if I offended you, I really didn't mean it... I really appreciate your help.
     

    Attached Files:

    • 1.jpg
      1.jpg
      File size:
      302.9 KB
      Views:
      806
  14. TANSL
    Joined: Sep 2011
    Posts: 5,800
    Likes: 201, Points: 73, Legacy Rep: 300
    Location: Spain

    TANSL Senior Member

    Yes, you're right, not an option .iges, which is very strange.
    Use, as I said before, the help of AutoCAD to know how to create the files. Iges. Perhaps it is another command, "Save As" or similar.
    As a workaround, you can send me your .dwg and I will translate it into .iges.
    Let me know if you get something positive
     

  15. laukejas
    Joined: Feb 2012
    Posts: 670
    Likes: 11, Points: 18, Legacy Rep: 128
    Location: Lithuania

    laukejas Senior Member

    I found absolutely nothing about .iges on help, and very little info on internet. As I mentioned, there might be need to buy AutoCAD "advantages" extension which enables .iges. Maybe you already have it. I tried Export, Save As, many different commands but none results in .iges export.
    Maybe there is some tool which converts from .dwg or .fbx to .iges? micspoko suggested rhinoceros, but it is paid...

    Thank you for your offer, but right now, I don't need to export it yet, my plan isn't ready for hydrostatics calculations, but I'll need to use it in near future very frequently...
     
Loading...
Forum posts represent the experience, opinion, and view of individual users. Boat Design Net does not necessarily endorse nor share the view of each individual post.
When making potentially dangerous or financial decisions, always employ and consult appropriate professionals. Your circumstances or experience may be different.