autocad and windows vista

Discussion in 'Software' started by madtech, May 14, 2007.

  1. madtech
    Joined: May 2007
    Posts: 19
    Likes: 0, Points: 0, Legacy Rep: 10
    Location: bognor regis

    madtech Junior Member

    hi there all iv got autocad2005 and it wont work on my new laptop with vista



    argh
    help
    i need to design
    and i cant get it to work

    has any one got a working version i can download cheers
     
  2. MikeJohns
    Joined: Aug 2004
    Posts: 3,192
    Likes: 206, Points: 63, Legacy Rep: 2054
    Location: Australia

    MikeJohns Senior Member

    It is not supported on Vista yet. Wait for SP2 or shift your OS back to XP.

    Similarly for other CAD packages.
     
  3. Raggi_Thor
    Joined: Jan 2004
    Posts: 2,457
    Likes: 64, Points: 0, Legacy Rep: 711
    Location: Trondheim, NORWAY

    Raggi_Thor Nav.arch/Designer/Builder

    Most cad packages uses OpenGL to communicate with the graphics card, they will run at half the speed on Vista compared to XP.
    More accurate, the graphics will run at half the speed, other operations may perform better.
     
  4. MikeJohns
    Joined: Aug 2004
    Posts: 3,192
    Likes: 206, Points: 63, Legacy Rep: 2054
    Location: Australia

    MikeJohns Senior Member

    Ragnar

    Sounds right, they told us that only Autocad2008 is truly Vista compliant. I thought it a fault with vista but its just this open gl thingo ?

    Here is a possible fix:

    Go to the exe file
    Right-Click on the file
    Go to the Compatability Tab
    Check-Run the program in Compatability Mode for Windows XP(SP2)
    Click on Show settings for all users
    Check-Run this program as an administrator
    Click Apply and Ok back out
     
  5. Raggi_Thor
    Joined: Jan 2004
    Posts: 2,457
    Likes: 64, Points: 0, Legacy Rep: 711
    Location: Trondheim, NORWAY

    Raggi_Thor Nav.arch/Designer/Builder

    Or you can try Bricscad :)
    (I'm selling it in Norway and it does pretty much the same as most of use ever will do in acad...)
    www.bricsys.com
     
  6. marshmat
    Joined: Apr 2005
    Posts: 4,127
    Likes: 148, Points: 0, Legacy Rep: 2043
    Location: Ontario

    marshmat Senior Member

    Vista seems to be like this with a lot of software. It's really optimized for running Microsoft's own code; other developers seem to be finding it to be a real headache. The OpenGL issues are just one of many faults that Microsoft didn't think would cause problems, because Microsoft doesn't really care whether or not they're making life hellish for other developers.
    My solution for now is to stick with XP SP2. I'm not even going to consider going to Vista for several more years, until the bugs have been worked out.
     
  7. madtech
    Joined: May 2007
    Posts: 19
    Likes: 0, Points: 0, Legacy Rep: 10
    Location: bognor regis

    madtech Junior Member

    Here is a possible fix:

    Go to the exe file
    Right-Click on the file
    Go to the Compatability Tab
    Check-Run the program in Compatability Mode for Windows XP(SP2)
    Click on Show settings for all users
    Check-Run this program as an administrator
    Click Apply and Ok back out
    __________________
    the above work fine thanks all
    any one know how to calculate the speed of a
    3m(long)
    .60m(wide)
    aerodynamic pointed shape
    110kg(total inc rider)
    craft using hydrofoils( 1m2 water contact)- not sure how much hydrofoil i need
    using a 8hp 4stroke at 2500rpm
    (prop is 9x6)
     
  8. formsys
    Joined: May 2007
    Posts: 91
    Likes: 5, Points: 0, Legacy Rep: 50
    Location: Australia

    formsys formsys

    You would be very unwise to try and run older software like AC2005 on Vista. Although they dont necessarily publicise it, if you ask your laptop supplier, they will usually be able to supply you with Windows XP with any new laptop which is a much safer bet for the next year or so.
     
  9. madtech
    Joined: May 2007
    Posts: 19
    Likes: 0, Points: 0, Legacy Rep: 10
    Location: bognor regis

    madtech Junior Member

    trouble is i already have the laptop and i need to use autocad do you recon its free anywhere
     
  10. grahampace
    Joined: Dec 2005
    Posts: 19
    Likes: 0, Points: 1, Legacy Rep: 10
    Location: malta

    grahampace Junior Member

    only acad 2008 works on vista
     
  11. StianM
    Joined: May 2006
    Posts: 593
    Likes: 23, Points: 18, Legacy Rep: 114
    Location: Norway

    StianM Senior Member

    I'm impresed people still get microsoft software. If I had a option when I bought my laptop I would ask them not to include it.
    You pay alot for a program that do the same as Mac and linux has ben able to do for some time and it even do it slower.

    Everytime I get a new windows version there si some software that don't want to work. If all software was made for linux and mac I would newer see anny reason to look at windows again. Thanx good I bough my computer right befour the vista came.
     
  12. madtech
    Joined: May 2007
    Posts: 19
    Likes: 0, Points: 0, Legacy Rep: 10
    Location: bognor regis

    madtech Junior Member

    2005 works on vista trust me im using it on my laptop
     
  13. SouthernCross
    Joined: Nov 2006
    Posts: 23
    Likes: 1, Points: 0, Legacy Rep: 21
    Location: NZ

    SouthernCross Junior Member

    update your vid drivers
     
  14. madtech
    Joined: May 2007
    Posts: 19
    Likes: 0, Points: 0, Legacy Rep: 10
    Location: bognor regis

    madtech Junior Member

    i dont understand the laptop is brand new about 4weeksd old????
     

  15. Raggi_Thor
    Joined: Jan 2004
    Posts: 2,457
    Likes: 64, Points: 0, Legacy Rep: 711
    Location: Trondheim, NORWAY

    Raggi_Thor Nav.arch/Designer/Builder

    I think this is what "unsupported" means, Acad 2005 may run on Vista on one computer but not on another, depending on graphics cards, drivers etc.

    Upgrade acad, "downgrade" windows or try alternative cad packages :)
    BUT, remember new laptops may be delivered with old drivers, so you could try to download the latest versions.
     
Loading...
Forum posts represent the experience, opinion, and view of individual users. Boat Design Net does not necessarily endorse nor share the view of each individual post.
When making potentially dangerous or financial decisions, always employ and consult appropriate professionals. Your circumstances or experience may be different.