Auto engine marinization

Discussion in 'DIY Marinizing' started by Guest, Jun 10, 2002.

1. Guest

Guest Guest

Hi. Can anyne help me find resources (preferably on the net but any will do) on how to marinize an auto engine. I know of one book that describes the process but it is out of print and difficult to get hold of. Any help appreciated.

2. Jeff

Jeff Moderator

The questions to start with would be gas or diesel, salt or fresh water?

I'm not a mechanic, but here is a repost of a usenet message which Rod McInnis posted in response to a similar question - there must be a few how-to's on the Internet but I don't have links off-hand - spending an hour or so with Google is probably a good bet:

Do you want it to be legal? Do you want it to be safe? Do you want it to last a long time?

The longevity is an issue with the raw water cooling, especially if the boat will ever see salt water. An automobile engine is cooled with, preferably, antifreeze, but even straight water will neutralize itself and stop eating away at the metal parts. On a boat, you have a constant flow of new water, which leads to a higher rate of corrosion. Two areas that are usually "marinized" are the head gasket and freeze plugs. If you are rebuilding the engine anyway, get the marine head gasket, and make sure the freeze plugs are brass instead of steel.

Safe and legal are mostly fire/explosion issues dealing with the fuel and electrical system.

FUEL:

The marine carburetor will be a little different, designed so that the float bowls don't vent into the engine compartment, although the differences are rather subtle (at least to my eye).