Need advice on boat plans

Discussion in 'Wooden Boat Building and Restoration' started by determined_ange, Jun 30, 2007.

1. determined_ange

determined_ange Junior Member

I found these plans while browsing around and I'm a little skeptical over the design. It doesnt look too sturdy but then again I'm no professional.

Anyone with experience have any advice on whether or not this boat is worth building?

Thanks in advance.

Attached Files:

2. kengrome

kengrome Senior Member

There's nothing wrong with the design, it's just a very simple and economical small boat. Don't worry about its strength, 3/8 inch plywood is plenty thick and strong enough for it. When you're done if it seems to flex too much just put thicker "shear rails" on it, although I doubt that the boat will need them any thicker than spec'd in the plans.

The plans say to use one sheet of 4x14' plywood but that size plywood hasn't been available for ages, so you will have to scarf two sheets of 4x8 together, or just glue a butt block on the joint to hold them together and forget about the scarfing.

If I were building this boat I would glue all the wood together with epoxy. Then you won't have to worry about the joints leaking or the nails or screws pulling out -- not that they would anyways but epoxy is just a great adhesive to use on wooden boats in general.

Good luck and have fun building it!

3. Trevlyns

Trevlyns Senior Citizen/Member

Yeah, I thought it was a bit of an overbuild with 3/8 ply. Some ocean going designs only specify ¼ ply but obviously have framing to compensate.

I agree with kengrome about screws and nails. Keep all such hardware out at all costs – it will only lead to problems later.

Good luck and let us have some pictures of the build too.

4. determined_ange

Thank you guys for the help and especially on the 4x14' sheet issue. I was going crazy looking around for a sheet that size since the only size around are 4x8.