Who And What Is A Boatbuilder

Discussion in 'All Things Boats & Boating' started by Sean Herron, Nov 19, 2008.

1. Sean Herron

Sean Herron Senior Member

Hello...

What is a boatbuilder...

Post your stories...

SH.

2. masalai

masalai masalai

I will pay for a hamburger today if you can build me a boat tomorrow.... I can chop down a tree with an axe (very slowly now as ageing processes you know) - I know what I like my boat to look like - I appreciate people with good trade skills - I am not an electrician and have wired up a house - My bank is holding a little gold bar for me and I want the price to grow rapidly - No mortgage - Kids gone and got married - I am patiently waiting for some change so I can go sailing and never come back....

3. Wynand N

Wynand N Retired Steelboatbuilder

a fool perhaps:?:

4. clodgo

clodgo Senior Member

I don't know the exact definition, but with unemployment being as it is, I'm guessing anyone with a bunch of crappy old tools from a recently defunct carpentry business and a garage full of materials can call themselves a boat builder.

Of coarse this depends on whether or not this person can tear themselves away from boat forums and family guy repeats.:p

CC

5. DGreenwood

DGreenwood Senior Member

*Like a sailor, s/he must have a very short memory.
    *S/He must have the patients of Job.
    *S/He must possess a very high tolerance for pain.
    *S/He must be willing to survive on peanuts and be accused of being a bandit at the same time.
    *S/He must study his profession for half a lifetime to achieve a level of competence worthy of journeyman (much less Master) to receive compensation less than half that of a Plumber.
    *And s/he must absolutely love what they are doing or have their head examined for doing it.

1 person likes this.
  6. timtap

timtap New Member

I am a boatbuilder with thirty years behind me, althouh a marine engineer I regard myself as a fitter !!