Solidworks to developed panels

Discussion in 'Software' started by larbhills, Aug 14, 2012.

1. larbhills

larbhills New Member

Hey this is my first post here. I am an engineer and I have tons of Solidworks experience. I designed a flats fishing boat in solidworks and I would like to build it stitch and glue. I have looked at several of the free hull design programs that will allow the user to develop flat panels but I cant find a way to import a file from Solidworks. I tried to build the boat as a sheet metal part in Solidworks but I couldn't get the panels to twist like I wanted them to. Solidworks can export to a whole bunch of different file formats. Step, iges etc. Does anyone know of a hull program that can import any 3d files that Solidworks can export? Or any other ideas?

Thanks!

2. quequen

quequen Senior Member

larbhills, do your job with surfaces (not solids), export to rhino, then develop there.

3. jgh design

jgh design New Member

Are you sure that sw produces developable surfaces ? If so, you could export via iges or stp to rhino and unroll the surfaces. But be careful - even if rhinos gaussian curvature analysis shows complete green results ( fully devolopable ) we had surfaces that were not buildable. Better to use special software for that, or rhinolabs ruling lines technique.

4. DCockey

DCockey Senior Member

Entire surface green for Guassian curvature in CurvatureAnalysis does not necessarially mean the surface is "fully developable". Set the limits large enough and any surface will be all green.

Whether a surface is close enough to an ideal developable surface to be buildable depends on the material and fabrication methods.

5. quequen

quequen Senior Member