Newbi project

Discussion in 'Materials' started by JaredT, Aug 2, 2008.

1. JaredT

JaredT Junior Member

OK I am new to this and have only had limited experence with composites. I am fooling around with the idea of building a lightweight 24' monohull, but the more research I do the more confused I become. There are several good cores on the market that are strong, elastic, and light. But which is the best for my applacation I don't know. I am leaning toward core cell for the hull (jaguar marine has had good luck with it in very high stress racing hulls) and Coosa bluewater for the transom and stringers, This might not be the best choice but is seems to be a direct repalcement for wood, making it almost idiot proof. (which I need lol) I thought about using kevlar, but the strength to weight of s-glass with its lower cost make it attractive. This is my first project so I am very open minded to any sugestions.
    I also have a question. Most boats seem to have two (or more) longitudinal stringers, could a boat be lighter if it's beam strength came from one central beam that runs along the keel? Much like a backbone chassis in a car is much more rigid and lighter than a ladder bar frame?
    Anyway my goals are as follows
    1 a dry hull weight of 1000lbs (rolled gunnel)
    2 24' length w/8.5' beam
    3 capability to run 30+mph on 115hp loaded. (not a high speed boat)

2. alan white

alan white Senior Member

It is true that a single member would most effectively connect the bow and the stern, but unfortunately the panels suspended between also need to be stiffened. Hence, a comprimise structure is designed, one that takes into account localized stiffness, whole panel stiffness, and weight.
    For this reason, too many small stiffening members are no better than a large single one.