Writing a novel containing boat maintenance...

Discussion in 'All Things Boats & Boating' started by mmillsaps117, Apr 22, 2024 at 3:25 PM.

1. mmillsaps117

mmillsaps117 New Member

Hey everyone! And thank you for taking the time to view my thread. I am an aspiring maritime author and am writing my first novel, and the main character will be the main crewmate in charge of repair for an antiquarian sloop ship.

My logic is as follows:

This is an antique ship, restored for the purpose of historical tours of the fictional island I have created. It's main purpose is to serve to preserve history and teach people about the ship itself and the island. It will be a key figure in the novel, and will be featured in multiple chapters, so I will need to know not only about repair but how to navigate, and operate this ship.

Considering it is such an old ship, I figured having a team dedicated to keeping the ship repaired and as historically accurate as possible is important (within parameters of course) is this a realistic idea? Where can I learn more about the restoration of antiquarian boats? Any resource recommendations would be helpful.

I have many questions and a great lack of knowledge on all things boats, but have always been fascinated by them and maritime history as a whole, and am know using this fascination to push me further into learning while writing a novel.

I have saved and am going through the boat stuff for beginners thread! In the mean time, I figured i would throw out my more specific questions here:

-Any recommendations where I can read/learn about how to restore and repair large wooden ships? Any first hand accounts of historical ships like this? Museum recommendations are welcome too.