Little advice on rhino

Discussion in 'Software' started by vinceUK, Feb 27, 2006.

1. vinceUK

vinceUK Junior Member

Hy, everybody, I'm a french student (in UK Southampton) in boat design. I would just need a little tip on rhino. I have imported a hull made on maxsurf (format IGES), everything is ok. Then, by using Surface/ Edge curves I make a transom and a deck. Everything is still ok. But I do not know how to make a cockpit. For instance, the trim and boolean difference functions do not seem to work when just putting a box through the deck and trying to make it become the cockpit. I hope I have been clear enough. Thanks a lot if you can help me

2. Andrew Mason

Andrew Mason Senior Member

Maybe do it in Maxsurf and import it into Rhino??

3. vinceUK

vinceUK Junior Member

Maybe I do not know but the trimming function in maxsurf that is used to make a cokpit is not recognized in rhino. I mean that the dack is flat when imported in rhino however it was with a trimmed cockpit originally

4. Tim B

Tim B Senior Member

This is not a job I'd do in Maxsurf (Sorry, Andrew).

So, in Rhino....
    The normal process is to draw (in 2D plan view) where you want the cockpit, then extrude the curves to intersect the deck. Use the "split" command between the deck surface and the cockpit "walls", then delete the bit in the middle of the cock-pit and carry on from there.

I think you probably need to practice using Rhino a lot.

If you're having trouble, give me a shout Tim@MarineDesign.tk and I'll see if I have some free time to help you out.

Tim B.

5. vinceUK

vinceUK Junior Member

I will not permit myself to disturb you. I try and i'll tell you. Thanks to support beginners. (excuse my english..)

6. vinceUK

vinceUK Junior Member

Maybe I'm trying too hard.. I do not reach but I do not understand why. A boolean difference should make "a hole "in the cockpit in the cockpit, shouldn't it? Let's work on the keel, I will try again later

7. Tim B

Tim B Senior Member