aqwa example

Discussion in 'Software' started by Garrido, Mar 1, 2012.

  1. Garrido
    Joined: Feb 2012
    Posts: 11
    Likes: 0, Points: 0, Legacy Rep: 10
    Location: Madrid

    Garrido Junior Member

    I'm Pasquale. I have a problem fixing the position of the mooring´s connection point between seabed and flotant
    structure. My flotant structure is an horizontal cylinder. It's a WECs (wave energy converter) of cylindrical shape.
    floating in horizontal position. I want to fix the moorings in order to allow only rotation in Roll (respect longitudinal axis), considering
    a transversal direction of the wave. The mooring must be applied at a distance equal a 0,75 R (R= radius of cylinder).
    In the link bottom you can find the file of the model.


    http://dl.dropbox.com/u/51822879/Bristol_coneccion_extrema.rar


    Thanks
     
  2. alan white
    Joined: Mar 2007
    Posts: 3,731
    Likes: 121, Points: 0, Legacy Rep: 1404
    Location: maine

    alan white Senior Member

    What does a wave converter do?
     
  3. jehardiman
    Joined: Aug 2004
    Posts: 2,803
    Likes: 365, Points: 83, Legacy Rep: 2040
    Location: Port Orchard, Washington, USA

    jehardiman Senior Member

    Roll only?

    Not sure can get there from how you want to start, too much coupling dependent on wave direction.

    See the 1999 Virginia Polytechnic masters thesis by Juan Carlos Archilla "Three-Dimensional Nonlinear Dynamics of a Moored Cylinder to be Used as a Breakwater.
     
    1 person likes this.
  4. CWTeebs
    Joined: Apr 2011
    Posts: 232
    Likes: 15, Points: 0, Legacy Rep: 171
    Location: Maine

    CWTeebs AnomalyGenerator

    If you have ANSYS version 14 you can simply add a fixed connection point and then add a connection.

    Otherwise you have to open the aqwa job file and manually enter the DCON keyword with the appropriate parameters.
     
    1 person likes this.

  5. CWTeebs
    Joined: Apr 2011
    Posts: 232
    Likes: 15, Points: 0, Legacy Rep: 171
    Location: Maine

    CWTeebs AnomalyGenerator

    Hey man I see that you did this in Ansys 13. It's a total pain in the *** but adding the connection you want can be done. If your license allows it I strongly advise you update to version 14 because you can do this directly in the user interface!

    To do this you have to step outside of workbench and go into native AQWA-AGS (Aqwa Graphical Supervisor). What you do is edit the .dat job files directly, in this case the TimeResponse.dat located in your ansys simulation directory (created by workbench).

    I made a movie of the simulation with the hinge connection but I'm not sure if that's what you even wanted. I made an unlisted movie of the simulation and also included the time domain job file that has the articulations in there.

    http://youtu.be/EQHxsJeHHP4
     

    Attached Files:

Loading...
Forum posts represent the experience, opinion, and view of individual users. Boat Design Net does not necessarily endorse nor share the view of each individual post.
When making potentially dangerous or financial decisions, always employ and consult appropriate professionals. Your circumstances or experience may be different.