What adhesive?

Discussion in 'Materials' started by Diyguy., Mar 15, 2023.

1. Diyguy.

Diyguy. New Member

Hi,
    I'm helping a friend to repair the double hull cabin roof on a Shetland 570 grp motor boat.
    The middle layer (I think it's called a core?) is 10mm sodden wood.
    The roof has been cut out on the inside of the cabin and we intend to use 10 mm marine ply, resined for waterproofing and refit it.
    The roof was built with rectangular pieces of wood and glued to the upper surface.
    What type of glue should I be using to restore strength to the roof.
    It will be glassed over, once the plywood is installed.
    Absolute newbie to boat repairs.
    Thank you in advance for any advice.

2. bajansailor

bajansailor Marine Surveyor

Welcome to the Forum Diyguy.

For general reference for other readers, here is a link to a sister ship for sale.
    https://iow.boatshed.com/shetland_570-boat-154723.html

Your original core was most probably balsa.
    If there is camber (ie some curvature) in your roof, then you would probably have to score the plywood with multiple longitudinal cuts to allow it to bend to the shape.
    Two part epoxy would probably be your best bet for gluing the plywood to the existing outer fibreglass skin of the roof.
    You will be doing everything overhead though, which will make things a bit more difficult.
    And overhead fibreglass laminating is no fun at all!
    If you can manage to glue in your new 10 mm plywood core, you could probably get away without glassing over it, so long as you seal it on the inside as well with epoxy.

Do you have any photos that could be posted of your boat, and of the inside of the roof after you have stripped away the rotten core?
    You probably can't post any yourself until you have a few more posts to your name, but if need be I could post them for you if you email them to me.

Last edited: Mar 16, 2023
    BlueBell and Rumars like this.
  3. rwatson

rwatson Senior Member