anyone here knows how to create a hydrofoil catamaran using MAXsurf?

Discussion in 'Software' started by tyq, Mar 16, 2018.

  1. tyq
    Joined: Mar 2018
    Posts: 8
    Likes: 0, Points: 1
    Location: singapore

    tyq Junior Member

    hi all,

    I currently doing my final year project on damage stability on hydrofoil catamaran. I have search tutorials online on how to create this type of vessel using MAXsurf but there is little info about it. Does anyone here knows how to create this vessel on Maxsurf? Any form of help would be greatly appreciated!! Thank you
     
    Last edited: Mar 16, 2018
  2. TANSL
    Joined: Sep 2011
    Posts: 5,812
    Likes: 206, Points: 73, Legacy Rep: 300
    Location: Spain

    TANSL Senior Member

    Although Maxsurf presents several type models to start modeling a certain project, it is normal that these templates serve little. Many times you have to create a body lines plan, as has be done all the life, and with another program, Rhino for example, create the 3D model, which is later exported to Maxsurf.
     
  3. bhnautika
    Joined: Feb 2006
    Posts: 832
    Likes: 52, Points: 38, Legacy Rep: 571
    Location: australia

    bhnautika Senior Member

    tyq power or sail? Picture of type of vessel would be good.
     
  4. tyq
    Joined: Mar 2018
    Posts: 8
    Likes: 0, Points: 1
    Location: singapore

    tyq Junior Member

    alright, thank you
     
  5. tyq
    Joined: Mar 2018
    Posts: 8
    Likes: 0, Points: 1
    Location: singapore

    tyq Junior Member

    something like this
     

    Attached Files:

  6. TANSL
    Joined: Sep 2011
    Posts: 5,812
    Likes: 206, Points: 73, Legacy Rep: 300
    Location: Spain

    TANSL Senior Member

    If that is really what you have to do, do not worry, your hydrofoil does not need, at all, the studies of demage stability.
    On the other hand, as I said before, to make the model with Maxsurf you need exactly the same as for any other type of hull, even if it is not hydrofoil catamaran. Some of us would do it in Rhimno, for example, exporting it to Maxsurf. Maybe that is more affordable or comfortable for you. So start working on your model and, cheer up!
     
  7. bhnautika
    Joined: Feb 2006
    Posts: 832
    Likes: 52, Points: 38, Legacy Rep: 571
    Location: australia

    bhnautika Senior Member

    tyq you can have this maxsurf file if you want it is one of my blank starting files.
     

    Attached Files:

  8. tyq
    Joined: Mar 2018
    Posts: 8
    Likes: 0, Points: 1
    Location: singapore

    tyq Junior Member

    can i ask does the foil need any specific dimension to attach to the hull?
     
  9. tyq
    Joined: Mar 2018
    Posts: 8
    Likes: 0, Points: 1
    Location: singapore

    tyq Junior Member

    Thank you!! Do you have it in a msd file?
     
  10. TANSL
    Joined: Sep 2011
    Posts: 5,812
    Likes: 206, Points: 73, Legacy Rep: 300
    Location: Spain

    TANSL Senior Member

    Is it a fixed foil?.
    Of course you will have to do some study to determine the loads on the foil, which it transmits to the hull and, therefore, how to make the connection between them.
     
  11. bhnautika
    Joined: Feb 2006
    Posts: 832
    Likes: 52, Points: 38, Legacy Rep: 571
    Location: australia

    bhnautika Senior Member

    tyq here are two files, one is the whole hull which you can edit as an asymmetric or the half hull as symmetrical then move out to a centre line then use the flip command to create the other side.
     

    Attached Files:

  12. tyq
    Joined: Mar 2018
    Posts: 8
    Likes: 0, Points: 1
    Location: singapore

    tyq Junior Member

    I was planing to make a T foil. Thank you for your reply!
     
  13. tyq
    Joined: Mar 2018
    Posts: 8
    Likes: 0, Points: 1
    Location: singapore

    tyq Junior Member

    Thank you very much!! I would like to ask when i import into Maxsurf stability, it doesn't show any compartments. Is there any method to show the compartments?
     
    Last edited: Apr 2, 2018
  14. bhnautika
    Joined: Feb 2006
    Posts: 832
    Likes: 52, Points: 38, Legacy Rep: 571
    Location: australia

    bhnautika Senior Member

    tyq the files are my blank starting file no compartments have been defined that would be up to you.
     

  15. tyq
    Joined: Mar 2018
    Posts: 8
    Likes: 0, Points: 1
    Location: singapore

    tyq Junior Member

    Alright, thanks for your help!
     
Loading...
Forum posts represent the experience, opinion, and view of individual users. Boat Design Net does not necessarily endorse nor share the view of each individual post.
When making potentially dangerous or financial decisions, always employ and consult appropriate professionals. Your circumstances or experience may be different.