Question about rudders

Discussion in 'Boat Design' started by TexasRCboater, Dec 27, 2011.

1. TexasRCboater

TexasRCboater New Member

Okay guys I'm somewhat new to this. I'm currantly building a battleship that is 7' long and 18" wide. I'm going to have 4 motors turning 4 props. I need some advice about what size props I need and what size and how many rudders I need. I am planning to have a bow thruster in the front of the ship. Can anyone help?

2. viking north

viking north VINLAND

Wow--have you subscribed to or read many model boat magazines/articles. Track down a model boat builders club, these guys are so giving of their time and info.We have one here in Halifax that has built similar sized battleships--The Hood--The Bismark--are two that I have seen in person. Both had air powered guns that fired BB's. Somewhere far back in my memory there was a guy down your way that built a model of one of the big German battleships that fired actual 22cal bullets. Just incrediable and more incrediable the builders will show and tell for hours. --Geo.

Last edited: Dec 28, 2011
  3. Submarine Tom

Submarine Tom Previous Member

Simply build them to scale. If in doubt, larger is better.

-Tom

4. PAR

PAR Yacht Designer/Builder

If you build them (rudders) to scale, you'll never have any control, particularly considering the extreme scale difference between 100% and the 7'er you're working with. Personally, if I was building a model like this, I'd ask myself what I wanted more, scale propulsion and rudders or maneuverability. Since you're opting for the bow thruster, I'll guess it's maneuverability, so I'd use two props and two rudders. It keeps things simple, which is usually good unless you like swimming after out of control model warships.

5. michael pierzga

michael pierzga Senior Member