Composite shop organisation and quality

Discussion in 'Fiberglass and Composite Boat Building' started by veggie, Apr 18, 2012.

1. veggie

veggie Junior Member

Hello,

I am currently working for a quite big yard.

The yard hasn't always been that big, and with the growth, untrained people have been hired and state of the art techniques have been a bit lost.

Our hand lay-up parts are made with glassfiber/polyester.

I have a quite big hand lay-up resin waste problem, mainly due to the workers not measuring how much resin they're preparing. The reason is that they:
    -don't know how much resin they're supposed to use for a specified amount of fiber
    -don't know how much resin they are actually using, hence don't know at which rate they are adding catalyser to the resin and often find themselve with a much shorter pot-life than expected

I am new in the yard, and having worked with racing boats builders and epoxy before, I was used to precisely weigh my resin with a scale. Therefore I am strongly pushing for the use of scales in the shop. I also managed to make tables for the workers with all the fiber cloths we're using (production builds, hence always working with the same pieces of glassfiber), theoretical resin needed and required amount of catalyser.

Another advantage with this is that we often end up with too high resin/fiber ratios, which can be a bit far away from what our design office used for masses estimations.

Do you guys have any tips on how:
    -protect my scales if my shop manager gets convinced and wants to invest
    -convince workers it will be a good thing to work with the scales and take into account the theoretical needed resin values
    -train workers a bit (quite a big proportion of our guys are absolutely not qualified as laminaters)
    -keep the momentum going once started

If any people had a bit similar experiences, I'd be happy to get some tips/critics from them.

Thanks!

1 person likes this.
  2. waikikin